

MEMO

TO: Mayor and Members of Council

FROM: Brenda Librecz, Commissioner, Community & Fire Services

PREPARED BY: Claudia Marsales, Senior Manager Waste & Environmental

Management

CC: Andy Taylor, CAO

DATE: March 7, 2016

SUBJECT: National Zero Waste Council

At the February 29th Council meeting staff was requested to provide additional information concerning the composition of members for this organization. The National Zero Waste Council is governed by a Board that includes: Chair, Vice Chair and Management Board, with staff and administrative support provided by a Secretariat. The Council uses member-led working groups to collaboratively advance projects in support of its vision and mission. Offices are located within Metro Vancouver civic building with financial funding from Federal of Canadian Municipalities (FCM). Information as requested is outlined below:

VISION

Canada united in the achievement of zero waste, now and for future generations.

MISSION

To act collaboratively with business, government and the community, at the national and international level, as an agent of change for waste prevention and reduction in the design, production and use of goods.

Date Organization Founded: 2013

Government Members:

Municipalities: Toronto, Edmonton, Vancouver, Halifax, Montreal, Gatineau, Richmond, North Vancouver, Burnaby, New Westminister, Port Coquitlam

Chair & Vice Chair

Malcolm Brodie

Chair, Metro Vancouver Zero Waste Committee, and Mayor, City of Richmond

Brock Macdonald

Chief Executive Officer, Recycling Council of BC

Management Board

Executive leadership responsible for the Council's strategic development, establish priorities, and create working groups.

Working Groups

- Circular Economy
- National Communication Campaigns
- Food
- Product Design and Packaging

Members

Members commit to the Council's vision and contribute value through engagement in working groups and other Council initiatives. There is currently no fee for membership. Members are both staff, and elected officials and are from all sectors – public, private and NGO's.

Management Board:

- o Corinne Atwood, Executive Director, BC Bottle and Recycling Depot Association
- o Alan Blake, Executive Director, PAC NEXT
- o Frank Came, Senior Advisor, Globe Foundation
- o Dan Casselman, Senior Policy Advisor, Federation of Canadian Municipalities
- Nancy Coulas, Director, Environment & Energy Policy, Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters
- o Renee Gratton, Founding President, Construction Resource Initiatives Council
- Bill Karsten, Councillor, Halifax Regional Municipality and Vice-chair of FCM's Standing Committee on Environmental Issues and Sustainable Development
- David Lawes, EPR Business Consultant
- Allen Lynch, Representative, International Board of Directors, Solid Waste Association of North America
- o Maury McCausland, Retail Operations Sustainability Specialist, London Drugs
- o Kris Ord, Acting Executive Director, Environmental Standards Branch, BC Ministry of Environment
- Christina Seidel , Executive Director, Recycling Council of Alberta
- Nathalie St-Pierre, Vice-President Sustainability and Quebec, Retail Council of Canada
- o Vanessa Timmer, Executive Director, One Earth

Advisory Body

- o John Coyne, Director, Board of Directors, Canadian Stewardship Services Alliance
- o Michael Goeres, Executive Director, Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment
- o Bridgett Luther, President, Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institute
- o Jared Wright, Director of Advocacy & Government Relations, Union of BC Municipalities

Working Group Members

- o Mike Layton, Councillor, City of Toronto (Co-lead)
- o Andrew Marr, Senior Engineer, Solid Waste Services, Metro Vancouver
- Annette Synowiec, Waste Management Planning, Solid Waste Management Services, City of Toronto
- Shawn Pegg, Senior Policy Advisor, Food Banks Canada
- o Philippe Ozga, Senior Manager of Government Relations Food Banks Canada
- Marie-Claude Bacon, Senior Director, Corporate Affairs Department Metro Richelieu Inc.
- Mathew Keliher, Manager of Solid Waste Resources (Acting), Halifax Regional Municipality.
- Michael Goeres, Executive Director, Canada Council of Ministers of the Environment.
- o Rebecca Freedman, Senior Policy Analyst, Clean Communities, BC Ministry of Environment.
- Sonya Sundberg , A/Manager, Clean Communities, Environmental Standards Branch, BC Ministry of Environment.
- Aurea Siemens, Waste Reduction Programs Supervisor, Waste Management Services, City of Edmonton
- Brock MacDonald, Executive Director, RCBC (Co-lead)
- o Christina Seidel, Executive Director, Recycling Council of Alberta (Co-lead)
- Meegan Armstrong, Acting Director, Waste Prevention, Environmental Standards Branch, BC
 Ministry of Environment
- Ken Ingram Director of Technical and Environmental Services, West Coast Reduction
- Fred Rabiner, Regional Vice-President, Shaw Industries Group Inc.
- o **Jo-Anne St. Godard**, Executive Director, Recycling Council of Ontario
- Allison Boulton, International Trade Advisor, Small Business BC
- Maury McCausland, Retail Operations Sustainability Specialist, London Drugs
- o Matthew Pattinson, National Account Manager, Recycling Alternative

Respectfully

Brenda Librecz

Commissioner, Community & Fire Services