

Council Minutes

(Special Meeting) November 6, 2017, 7:00 PM

Council Chamber, Anthony Roman Markham Civic Centre Meeting No. 16

Alternate formats for this document are available upon request

Roll Call

Mayor Frank Scarpitti, Regional Councillor Joe Li, Regional Councillor Nirmala Armstrong, Councillor Valerie Burke, Councillor Alan Ho, Councillor Don Hamilton, Councillor Karen Rea, Councillor Colin Campbell, Councillor Amanda Collucci, Councillor Logan Kanapathi, Councillor Alex Chiu.

Regrets

Deputy Mayor Jack Heath, Regional Councillor Jim Jones.

Staff

Andy Taylor, Chief Administrative Officer Laura Gold, Deputy City Clerk Vanessa Rhodes, Acting Manager, Access & Privacy

The Special Meeting of Council convened at 7:06 PM on November 6, 2017 in the Council Chamber. Mayor Frank Scarpitti presided.

1. DISCLOSURE OF PECUNIARY INTEREST

(1) None declared.

2. PRESENTATIONS

(1) ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERS PAST SERVICE RECOGNITION (12.2.6)

Mayor Scarpitti extended a thank you to everyone who has volunteered their time to assist with the City's Advisory Committees.

CAO Andy Taylor extended a thank you for the dedication of the Advisory Committee members and then read the names of the Advisory Committee members who were in attendance to receive their certificate of Service Recognition.

Council recognized Members of Advisory Committees for their past dedicated services including:

Advisory Committee on Accessibility

Brendan Faulkner Catherine Hughes Joan Jenkyn

Achievement & Civic Recognition Committee

Sherry Hugh Tammy Mok Harvey Rogers Kenneth Wade

Agricultural Advisory Committee

Ruth Brock Ligia DeFilippis Guy Farintosh Bryant Hulshaf Lynne Koss Richard Reesor

Animal Care Committee

Julia Colangelo
Terri Daniels
Jennifer Ford
Nicole Hendricks
Furhait Kashmiri
Trudie Ross
Pamela Young

Box Grove Community Centre Board

Panchalingam (Punch) Kandiah Andrew Moonilal Sangeetha Thananyagam

Canada Day Committee

Munira Budheo Farzath Hanifa Mandy Ou

Cemetery Board

Marion Zeltins

Cycling & Pedestrian Advisory Committee

Joseph Cimer Gordon Cole Dan Gilligan

James Lin

Environmental Advisory Committee

Mavis Fung

Alexander Karlovski

Allan Lee

Chuan Li

Amol Rao

Flato Markham Theatre Advisory Board

Stephen Mathieu

Karyn Toon

Friends of the Markham Museum Board

Martha Mingay

Ardy Reid

Nicole Taylor

Heintzman House Community Centre Board

Louise MacNaughton

Bob Henderson

Paul Glionna

Patrick Chamandy

Heritage Markham Committee

Julie Chapman

Jenny Chau

Evan Gelman

Templar Tsang-Trinaistich

Historical Unionville Community Vision Committee

Templar Tsang-Trinaistich

Main Street Markham Committee

Jason Bebee

Helen Walter

Gordon Walters

Markham-Milliken Children's Festival Committee

Munira Budheo

Gowthaman Rajakumar

Adrianna Scali

Public Art Advisory Committee

Kenny Yu

Public Library Board

Atif Ahmad

Claire Chester

Farzana Jiwani

Jeanette Lewis

Public Realm Advisory Committee

Shadi Aghaei

Omar Bhatti

Shichun Chen

Ivan Cheung

Mavis Fung

Chuan Li

Race Relations Committee

Moises Calo

Jacqueline Sang

Seniors Advisory Committee

Vincent Cheung

Faiz Mohyuddin

Balasunderam Ponniah

Assad (Kunigal) Shariff

Manickampillai Velauthapillai

Senior's Hall of Fame Awards Committee

Mary Charbonneau

Jaswant Dhanjal

Angie Heaver

Gail Lee

Tony Murphy

Unionville Business Improvement Area

Ryan McLachlan

Stacey Sniderman

Elisabeth Mensher

Parveen Jhinga

Simin Jahedi

Varley-McKay Art Foundation of Markham

Susan Gray

Paul Keeling

Ernestine Tahedl

Victoria Square Community Centre Board

Don Boynton

Moved by Regional Councillor Joe Li Seconded by Regional Councillor Nirmala Armstrong

That Council acknowledge the Advisory Committee members who were unable to attend the recognition event held this evening.

Carried

3. CONFIRMATORY BY-LAW

Moved by Councillor Alex Chiu Seconded by Councillor Valerie Burke

That By-law 2017-97 be given three readings and enacted.

Three Readings

BY-LAW 2017-97 A BY-LAW TO CONFIRM THE PROCEEDINGS OF THE SPECIAL

COUNCIL MEETING OF NOVEMBER 6, 2017.

By-law

Carried

4. ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Councillor Alex Chiu Seconded by Councillor Logan Kanapathi

That the Council Meeting be adjourned at 7:51 PM.

Carried

Laura Gold Frank Scarpitti
Deputy City Clerk Mayor

Deputy City Clerk (Signed)