TOWN OF MARKHAM PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD

Annual General Meeting

Minutes of meeting held on Monday, October 24, 2011, 7:12 p.m., Markham Village Library, Program Room, Main Level, 6031 Highway 7, Markham

Present from Board:	Mr. Ted McDermott, Interim Chair Mr. Sanjay Varma Mrs. Deborah Jestin Regional Councillor Joe Li Ms. Jennifer Yip Mr. Justin Hung Ms. Marilyn Aspevig Mr. David Jones Councillor Howard Shore Mr. Alfred Kam Mr. Alfred Kam Mr. Alan Orr Mrs. Yemisi Dina Mrs. Nicki Lawrence Mr. John Webster
Present from Staff:	Mrs. Catherine Biss, CEO & Secretary-Treasurer Mr. Moe Hosseini-Ara, Director, Service Excellence Mr. Larry Pogue, Director, Administration Ms. Deborah Walker, Director, Strategy & Innovation Mrs. Diane Macklin, Manager, Marketing & Community Development Mr. Patrick Pan, Manager, Milliken Mills Branch Ms. Yolanda Chan, Manager, Angus Glen Branch Ms. Margaret Macmillan, Manager, Thornhill Branches Mrs. Sony Torre, Board Secretary

Regrets: Deputy Mayor Jack Heath

1.0 Call to order/Approval of Agenda

Mr. Ted McDermott, Interim Chair, called the meeting to order at 7:12 p.m.

Moved by: Councillor Howard Shore Seconded by: Mrs. Deborah Jestin

RESOLVED THAT: the agenda be approved.

Carried.

2.0 CEO to preside over the elections of Board Chair and Vice-Chair

The Interim Chair handed over the meeting to the CEO to preside over the elections of the Chair and Vice-Chair. The CEO explained the voting process and the speaking order of the nominees.

The CEO invited nominations for the position of Chair.

Mr. David Jones nominated himself for the position of Chair. Ms. Marilyn Aspevig seconded the nomination.

Mrs. Deborah Jestin nominated herself for the position of Chair. Mr. Ted McDermott seconded the nomination. Mr. Justin Hung nominated himself for the position of Chair. Mr. Sanjay Varma seconded the nomination.

Moved by: Mr. Ted McDermott Seconded by: Regional Councillor Joe Li

RESOLVED THAT: the nominations for the position of Chair be closed.

Carried.

The nominees picked their order of speaking randomly from the Board Secretary's box. They were given the opportunity to speak to the Board for not more than two minutes.

Mr. Justin Hung, Mr. David Jones, and Mrs. Deborah Jestin delivered their speeches.

The Board Secretary distributed the ballots to the members to cast their votes.

The CEO and the Board Secretary tabulated the ballots in a private room. The CEO read the results of the election and declared Mrs. Deborah Jestin as Chair for the term ending January 2013.

Moved by:Councillor Howard ShoreSeconded by:Mr. Justin Hung

RESOLVED THAT: Mrs. Deborah Jestin is hereby elected to the position of Chair for the term ending January 2013.

Carried.

The CEO invited nominations for the position of Vice-Chair.

Ms. Marilyn Aspevig nominated Mr. Justin Hung to the position of Vice-Chair. He accepted the nomination. Mrs. Yemisi Dina seconded the nomination.

There were no other nominations.

Moved by: Mr. Ted McDermott Seconded by: Mr. David Jones

RESOLVED THAT: the nominations for the position of Vice-Chair be closed.

Carried.

Moved by: Ms. Marilyn Aspevig Seconded by: Mrs. Yemisi Dina

RESOLVED THAT: Mr. Justin Hung is hereby elected to the position of Vice-Chair for the term ending January 2013.

Carried.

3.0 Adjournment

The CEO declared that the election process is complete and that the Annual General Meeting would be adjourned.

Moved by Mr. Justin Hung that the meeting be adjourned at 7:25 p.m.