TOWN OF MARKHAM PUBLIC LIBRARIES

Annual General Meeting

Minutes of Meeting held on Monday, January 28, 2008; 7:00 p.m., Markham Village Library – Administration, 6031 Highway 7, Markham

Present from the Board: Councillor Alex Chiu

Ms Pat Durst
Ms Cheryl Giblon
Mr. Justin Hung
Ms Deborah Jestin
Ms Ada Leung
Ms Shamira Madhany
Mr. Mahandra Naik

Mr. Mahendra Naik Ms Rashi Sharma Ms Lan Sum

Councillor John Webster

Present from Staff: Mrs. Catherine Biss, CEO and Secretary-Treasurer

Mr. Larry Pogue, Director, Administration & Operational Support Ms Debbie Walker, Director, Library Strategy & Innovation Mr. Mohammed Hosseini-Ara, Director, Service Excellence Mrs. Diane Macklin, Marketing & Programming Strategist

Mrs. Jane Byrnes, Board Secretary

Mr. Patrick Pan, Branch Manager, Unionville Library

Guest: Mr. Eardley Adams

Project Manager

Regrets: Regional Councillor Jack Heath

Mr. William Jeyaveeran

1.0 AGENDA

1.1 Call to Order/Approval of Agenda

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer of the Board called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Moved by: Ms Sum

Seconded by: Councillor Chiu

RESOLVED THAT: the agenda be approved.

Carried.

1.2 Election of Chair and Vice Chair

The CEO invited nominations of Chair.

Ms Giblon nominated Mrs.Pat Durst for the position of Chair.

Ms Sum seconded the nomination.

Mrs. Durst accepted the nomination.

The CEO asked of there are any other nominations. The nominations were closed.

Moved by: Councillor Chiu Seconded by: Councillor Webster

RESOLVED THAT: The nomination for the position of Chair be closed.

AND THAT: Mrs. Pat Durst is hereby elected to the position of Chair for the term ending January 2009 or until such time as Council appoints the new Board.

Carried.

The CEO requested nominations for the position of Vice Chair.

Ms Sum nominated Ms Cheryl Giblon for the position of Vice Chair. Ms Jestin seconded the nomination.

Ms Giblon accepted the nomination.

The CEO asked if there are any other nominations. The nominations were closed.

Moved by: Councillor Chiu Seconded by: Councillor Webster

RESOLVED THAT: The nomination for the position of Vice Chair be closed.

AND THAT: Ms Cheryl Giblon is hereby elected to the position of Vice Chair for the term ending January 2009 or until such time as Council appoints the new Board.

Carried.

1.3 Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Chiu that the Annual General Meeting be adjourned at 7:05 p.m.