#### MARKHAM PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD

#### **Annual General Meeting**

# Minutes of meeting held on Monday, May 25, 2015 8:46 p.m., Markham Village Library, Program Room, Main Level, 6031 Highway 7, Markham

Present from Board: Mr. Edward T. McDermott. Past-Chair

Mr. Alfred Kam
Mrs. Marilyn Aspevig
Mr. Ben Hendriks
Dr. Farzana Jiwani
Mr. Alick Siu
Ms. Jennifer Yip
Mrs. Yemisi Dina
Mrs. Pearl Mantell
Mrs. Lillian Tolensky
Mrs. Claire Chester
Mr. Atif Ahmad
Ms. Isa Lee

.

Present from Staff: Mrs. Catherine Biss, CEO & Secretary-Treasurer

Mr. Larry Pogue, Director, Administration

Ms. Deborah Walker, Director, Strategy and Innovation Ms. Andrea Cecchetto, Manager, Learning and Growth

Ms. Michelle Sawh, Manager, Service Delivery

Mrs. Diane Macklin, Manager, Marketing & Community Development

Mr. Chris Sheehy, Manager; Facilities & Workplace Safety

Ms. Agnieszka Gorgon, Community Librarian Ms. Ange Friesen, Community Librarian Ms. Elizabeth Myers, Community Librarian Ms. Amanda Kelly, Community Librarian

Ms. Jennifer Dias-Stevenson, Community Librarian

Mrs. Cheryl Marcus, Community Librarian

Mrs. Susan Price, Board Secretary

Regrets: Councillor Alan Ho

Mrs. Jeanette Lewis

Deputy Mayor Jack Heath Regional Councillor Joe Li

### 1.0 Call to order/Approval of Agenda

Mrs. Catherine Biss, CEO, called the meeting to order at 8:46 p.m.

Moved by: Mrs. Pearl Mantell Seconded by: Mr. Alick Siu

Resolved that the agenda be approved.

Carried.

#### 2.0 Election of Board Chair and Vice-Chair

The CEO invited nominations for the position of Chair.

Ms. Jennifer Yip nominated Mr. Alfred Kam for the position of Chair.

Mrs. Yemisi Dina seconded the nomination.

Mr. Alfred Kam accepted the nomination.

There were no other nominations for the position of Chair. The nominations for the position of Chair were closed.

Moved by: Mr. Ben Hendriks Seconded by: Mrs. Lillian Tolensky

Resolved that the nomination for the position of Chair be closed and that Mr. Alfred Kam is hereby elected to the position of Chair for the term ending January 2016.

Carried unanimously.

The CEO invited nominations for the position of Vice-Chair.

Ms. Jennifer Yip nominated Mrs. Marilyn Aspevig for the position of Vice-Chair.

Mrs. Yemisi Dina seconded the nomination.

Mrs. Marilyn Aspevig accepted the nomination.

There were no other nominations for the position of Vice-Chair. The nominations for the position of Vice-Chair were closed.

Moved by: Mrs. Claire Chester Seconded by: Mr. Atif Ahmad

Resolved that the nomination for the position of Vice-Chair be closed and that Mrs. Marilyn Aspevig is hereby elected to the position of Vice-Chair for the term ending January 2016.

Carried unanimously.

Mrs. Marilyn Aspevig thanked the Board for their unanimous decision. Mrs. Aspevig thanked past Chair, Mr. Ted McDermott for all his efforts and attributes, and stated that he will be missed.

Mr. Alfred Kam also thanked the Board for the opportunity to serve as their Chair and looks forward to the challenges of the new Board over the next four years. He stated that Ted McDermott will be a "tough act to follow".

## 3.0 Adjournment

The CEO declared that the election process is complete and that the Annual General Meeting would be adjourned.

Moved by Mr. Alick Siu that the meeting be adjourned at 9:10 p.m.