MARKHAM PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD

Annual General Meeting

Minutes of meeting held on Monday, January 25, 2016 7:05 p.m., Markham Village Library, Program Room, Main Level, 6031 Highway 7, Markham L3P 3A7

Present from Board:	Mr. Alfred Kam Mrs. Marilyn Aspevig Mr. Alick Siu Mrs. Jeanette Lewis Mrs. Lillian Tolensky Mrs. Claire Chester Dr. Farzana Jiwani Mr. Ben Hendriks Mr. Atif Ahmad (up to 10.0) Ms. Jennifer Yip Ms. Isa Lee Deputy Mayor Jack Heath
Present from Staff:	Mrs. Catherine Biss, CEO & Secretary-Treasurer Ms. Deborah Walker, Director, Strategy and Innovation Mrs. Diane Macklin, Manager, Marketing & Community Development Mr. Shaun McDonough, Research Analyst Mrs. Susan Price, Board Secretary
Regrets:	Regional Councillor Joe Li Councillor Alan Ho Mrs. Yemisi Dina Mrs. Pearl Mantell
Guest:	Brenda Librecz, Commissioner, Community & Fire Services

1.0 Call to order/Approval of Agenda

Mrs. Catherine Biss, CEO, called the meeting to order at 7:05 p.m.

Moved by: Mr. Ben Hendriks Seconded by: Mr. Alick Siu

Resolved that the agenda be approved.

Carried.

2.0 **Election of Board Chair and Vice-Chair**

The CEO invited nominations for the position of Chair.

Mrs. Marilyn Aspevig nominated Mr. Alfred Kam for the position of Chair. Mr. Alick Siu seconded the nomination. Mr. Alfred Kam accepted the nomination.

There were no other nominations for the position of Chair. Nominations for the position of Chair were closed.

Moved by: Ms. Jennifer Yip Seconded by: Mr. Alick Siu

Resolved that the nominations for the position of Chair be closed and that Mr. Alfred Kam is hereby elected to the position of Chair for the term ending January 2017.

Carried.

Mr. Kam thanked the Board for their trust and support and pledged to do his best to further the cause of the Library this year by reaching out to the City while continuing to operate as a separate entity.

The CEO invited nominations for the position of Vice-Chair.

Mrs. Lillian Tolensky nominated Mrs. Marilyn Aspevig for the position of Vice-Chair. Ms. Isa Lee seconded the nomination. Mrs. Marilyn Aspevig accepted the nomination.

There were no other nominations for the position of Vice-Chair. Nominations for the position of Vice-Chair were closed.

Moved by: Mrs. Lillian Tolensky Seconded by: Ms. Jennifer Yip

Resolved that the nominations for the position of Vice-Chair be closed and that Mrs. Marilyn Aspevig is hereby elected to the position of Vice-Chair for the term ending January 2017.

Carried.

Mrs. Aspevig thanked the Board for their support.

3.0 Adjournment

The CEO declared that the election process was complete and asked for a motion that the Annual General Meeting be adjourned.

Moved by Mrs. Claire Chester that the meeting be adjourned at 7:10 p.m.