MARKHAM PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD

Annual General Meeting

Minutes of meeting held on Monday, January 22, 2018 7:02 p.m., Markham Village Library, Program Room, Main Level, 6031 Highway 7, Markham L3P 3A7

Present from Board: Mr. Ben Hendriks, Chair

Mr. Alick Siu, Vice-Chair Ms. Aida DaSilva Mrs. Lillian Tolensky Mrs. Pearl Mantell Ms. Margaret McGrory Mrs. Marilyn Aspevig

Regional Councillor Jo Li

Ms. Ivy Ho

Councillor Alan Ho

Present from Staff: Mrs. Catherine Biss, CEO & Secretary-Treasurer

Ms. Deborah Walker, Director, Strategy & Innovation

Mrs. Diane Macklin, Manager, Marketing & Community Development

Ms. Michelle Sawh, Manager, Service Delivery Mr. Shaun McDonough, Research Analyst

Mrs. Susan Price, Board Secretary

Regrets: Deputy Mayor Heath

Mrs. Yemisi Dina Ms. Isa Lee Ms. Jennifer Yip Mr. Alfred Kam

1.0 Call to order/Approval of Agenda

Mrs. Catherine Biss, CEO, called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m.

Moved by: Mrs. Marilyn Aspevig Seconded by: Mrs. Lillian Tolensky

Resolved that the agenda be approved.

Carried.

2.0 <u>Election of Board Chair and Vice-Chair</u>

The CEO invited nominations for the position of Chair.

Mr. Alick Siu nominated Mr. Ben Hendriks for the position of Chair.

Mrs. Pearl Mantell seconded the nomination.

Mr. Ben Hendriks accepted the nomination.

There were no other nominations for the position of Chair. Nominations for the position of Chair were closed.

Moved by: Mrs. Lillian Tolensky Seconded by: Mrs. Pearl Mantell

Resolved that the nominations for the position of Chair be closed and that Mr. Ben Hendriks is hereby elected to the position of Chair for the term ending January 2019.

Carried.

The CEO invited nominations for the position of Vice-Chair.

Mrs. Lillian Tolensky nominated Mr. Alick Siu for the position of Vice-Chair.

Mrs. Marilyn Aspevig seconded the nomination.

Mr. Alick Siu accepted the nomination.

There were no other nominations for the position of Vice-Chair. Nominations for the position of Vice-Chair were closed.

Moved by: Mrs. Lillian Tolensky Seconded by: Mrs. Marilyn Aspevig

Resolved that the nominations for the position of Vice-Chair be closed and that Mr. Alick Siu is hereby elected to the position of Vice-Chair for the term ending January 2019.

Carried.

3.0 Adjournment

The CEO declared that the election process was complete and asked for a motion that the Annual General Meeting be adjourned.

Moved by Mr. Alick Siu and seconded by Mrs. Lillian Tolensky that the meeting be adjourned at 7:08 p.m.