

SPECIAL COUNCIL MINUTES

(Community Recognition) June 24, 2013, 7:00 p.m.

Council Chamber, Anthony Roman Markham Civic Centre Meeting No. 15

Alternate formats for this document are available upon request

ROLL CALL

Mayor Frank Scarpitti, Deputy Mayor Jack Heath, Regional Councillor Joe Li, Councillor Valerie Burke, Councillor Howard Shore, Councillor Carolina Moretti, Councillor Colin Campbell, Councillor Alan Ho, Councillor Logan Kanapathi, Councillor Alex Chiu.

REGRETS

Regional Councillor Jim Jones Regional Councillor Gord Landon Councillor Don Hamilton

STAFF

Andy Taylor, Chief Administrative Officer
Brenda Librecz, Commissioner of Community & Fire Services
Jim Baird, Commissioner of Development Services
Trinela Cane, Commissioner of Corporate Services
John Wong, Technology Support Specialist
Stephen M.A. Huycke, Deputy Clerk
Laura Gold, Council/Committee Coordinator
Laurie Rose, Mayor's Chief of Staff
Michelle Gibbons, Mayor's Office Receptionist

The Special Council Meeting for Community Recognition convened at 7:15 p.m. on June 24, 2013 in the Council Chamber. Mayor Frank Scarpitti presided.

On behalf of Council, Mayor Frank Scarpitti welcomed members of the public to the Special Council Meeting for Community Recognition. He noted the purpose of the meeting is to recognize and celebrate individuals who have made contributions to the community of Markham by serving on one of the City's eighty (80) advisory boards and committees, whose term ended in either 2011 or 2012.

1. DISCLOSURE OF PECUNIARY INTEREST

(1) None declared.

2. PRESENTATIONS

(1) ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERS PAST SERVICE RECOGNITION (12.2.6)

Council recognized Members of the Advisory Committee for their past dedicated services including:

Advisory Committee on Accessibility

Jaqueline Bell

Prescott Harrison

Jocelyn Horsford

Rhonda Jacobson

Prabhu Rajan

Carole Robertson

Achievement & Civic Recognition Awards Committee

Imran Ali

Rommel Domingo

Zainab Hussaen

Joan Stockwell

Animal Care Committee

Mi Lv

Dr. Annabel Musson

Bernice Royce

Andrea Sim

Canada Day Committee

Jaswant Dhanjal

Antonette Di Novo

Taylor Huff

Daisy Jiang

Mark Kai

Leon Liu

Shervin Mohabbati

Richard Wilson

Cornell Advisory Group

Robert Baird

Cycling & Pedestrian Advisory Committee

Andrew Tronchin

Gordon Walter

Phil Chan

Adam Poon

Christopher Sauer

Carole Robertson

Doors Open Markham Committee

Catherine Mount

Joanne Quinn

Denny Zhou

Markham Environmental Advisory Committee

Thomas Rado

Lloyd Helferty

Erika Lontoc

Salim Manji

Brent Mersey

Dr. Elvis Nurse

Zahra Parhizgari

Louis Priftakis

Friends of the Markham Museum Foundation

Genevieve M. Landis

Gunter Langhorst

Ardy Reid

Glenn Schick

German Mills Community Centre Board

Helen Duffy

Heintzman House Community Centre Board

Ed Hankins

Heritage Markham – LACAC

Jeanne Ker-Hornell

Richard Morales

Sylvia Morris

Susan Casella

Deirdre Kavanagh

James Makaruk

Council Minutes No. 15 June 24, 2013 Page 4

Leash Free Markham Committee

Greg Dabus

Jordan Dewitt

Alan Glushko

Robert Goddard

Main Street Markham Committee

Richard Morales

Markham Centre Advisory Group

Harry Eaglesham

Barry McFarquhar

Darina Phillips

Ted Spence

Brent Mersey

Alan Wells

Tracy MacKinnon

Greg McCormick

Markham-Milliken Children's Festival Committee

Mayavan Ananthanadaraj

Carmen Chen

Cherry Cheng

Markham Village Business Improvement Area Board

Roger Carlsen

Roger Clement

Brad Hainschwang

Phil Howes

Wil Pialagitis

Brian Price

Markham Village Train Station Community Centre Board

Tim Armstrong

Nirmala Persaud-Armstrong

Theo Rothe

Milliken Mills Main Street Advisory Group

Charles Sutherland

Ouan Low Sin

Elise Cadore

Pickering Airport Advisory Committee

Garry Knott

Property Standards Committee

Wafik Abadir Yash Kapur

Public Art Advisory Committee Markham

Peter Favot Salim Manji Judi McIntyre Rhiannon Traill

Public Library Board

Cheryl Giblon David Jones Lan Sum Shamira Madhany Mahendra Naik Ada Leung

Race Relations Committee

Jobson Easow Winnie Wales Theresa Coulter Hetal Damania Shila Desai

Santa Claus Parade Committee

Phil Howes

Seniors' Hall of Fame Awards Committee

Rose Harrison Margaret Jones John Milligan Barbara Traverner

Seniors Advisory Committee

Ivy Ng Shirley Burchell Ramanlal Patel

Stiver Mill Preservation Committee

Ken Davis

Jeanne Ker-Hornell

Christl Reeh

Rob Harper

Ann Laxton

Wes Rowe

Richard Talbot

Doug Worsley

Flato Markham Theatre Advisory Board

Dennis Cline

Simon Gulden

Ada Yeung

Nancy Cogger

Brian Harvey

Dr. Pat Kincaid

Mario Miranda

Elizabeth Richardson

Isabel Schnapp

Rufaro Maria Shambare

Unionville Business Improvement Area

Joseph Virgilio

Suzanne Bouchard

Dave Conway

Bill Dawson

Sarah Iles

Tracy MacKinnon

Gregory McCormick

Elizabeth Plashkes

Sharon Taylor-Wood

Mario Tiano

Angela Wong

Varley-McKay Art Foundation of Markham

Howard Back

Patrick Carr

Karen Chadwick

Anna Hudson

Beverly Kelly

Edward Mariani

Robert McCulloch

Elizabeth Plashkes

Beverly Schaeffer

Moved by Deputy Mayor Jack Heath Seconded by Councillor Alan Ho

That Council recognize, with gratitude, all the volunteer hours spent by members of the Advisory Boards and Committee, whose term ended in 2011 or 2012, for their dedication contribution to the City of Markham.

CARRIED

3. CONFIRMATORY BY-LAW

Moved by Councillor Logan Kanapathi Seconded by Councillor Howard Shore

That By-law 2013-120 be given three readings and enacted.

Three Readings

BY-LAW 2013-120 A BY-LAW TO CONFIRM THE PROCEEDINGS OF THE COUNCIL MEETING OF JUNE 24, 2013.

By-law

CARRIED

4. ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Councillor Colin Campbell Seconded by Councillor Valerie Burke

That the Council meeting be adjourned at 8:18 p.m.

STEPHEN M.A. HUYCKE FRANK SCARPITTI
DEPUTY CLERK MAYOR