

Council Minutes

(Community Recognition)
February 5, 2015, 7:00 PM
Council Chamber, Anthony Roman Markham Civic Centre
Meeting No. 5

Alternate formats for this document are available upon request

Roll Call

Mayor Frank Scarpitti, Deputy Mayor Jack Heath, Regional Councillor Joe Li, Regional Councillor Nirmala Armstrong, Councillor Valerie Burke, Councillor Alan Ho, Councillor Karen Rea, Councillor Colin Campbell, Councillor Amanda Collucci, Councillor Logan Kanapathi, Councillor Alex Chiu.

Regrets

Regional Councillor Jim Jones, Councillor Don Hamilton,

Staff

Andy Taylor, Chief Administrative Officer
Trinela Cane, Commissioner of Corporate Services
Joel Lustig, Treasurer
Lorraine Li, Mayor's Office
Dennis Flaherty, Director of Communications and Community Relations
Cathy Molloy, Manager, Markham Museum
John Wong, Technology Support Specialist
Kitty Bavington, Deputy Clerk
Kiran Saini, Legislative Coordinator

The Special Council Meeting for Community Recognition convened at 7:02 PM on February 5, 2015 in the Council Chamber. Mayor Frank Scarpitti presided.

On behalf of Council, Mayor Frank Scarpitti welcomed members of the public to the Special Council Meeting for Community Recognition. He noted the purpose of the meeting is to recognize and celebrate individuals who have made contributions to the community of Markham.

1. DISCLOSURE OF PECUNIARY INTEREST

(1) None declared.

2. PRESENTATIONS

(1) 2014 MARKHAM SANTA CLAUS PARADE - RECOGNITION OF PARADE WINNERS, INDIVIDUALS AND BUSINESSES (12.2.6)

The 42nd Markham Santa Claus Parade was held on November 29, 2014.

Jim Sandiford, Chair of Markham Santa Claus Parade Committee, provided a brief presentation on this matter.

Council recognized the following parade winners:

<u>Categories</u>	1 st Place Winners	2 nd Place Winners
Commercial Float	Budget Towing Services	School of Rock
Non-Commercial Float	Murray Fallaise Barrel Train	The War Amps of Canada
Marching Group	351 Silver Star Royal Canadian Air Cadet Squadron 883 Air Commodore Leonard Birchall Squadron	Girl Guides of Canada
Band	Collingwood Collegiate Marching Band	Governor General's Horse Guards Band
School	St. Marcellinus Secondary School Drum Line	Jean Vanier Catholic Secondary School Scarborough
Theme	Town Crier John Webster	Markham Fair

Council recognized the following for their outstanding contributions to the parade:

- D. Crupi & Sons Limited
- Terry Meades

Council recognized the following Members of the Markham Santa Claus Parade Committee for their contributions to the parade:

- Jim Sandiford
- Andy Taylor
- Peter Still
- Art Moad
- Joel Lustig
- Dennis Flaherty
- Yvonne Buckley Lord
- Enzo Greco
- Craig Breen
- Morgan Jones
- Councillor Colin Campbell
- Sergeant Elaine Morash
- Constable Thomas Korte
- Kane Elliott

(2) JOHN BAYFIELD

- RECIPIENT OF THE SCAYSBROOK AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING VOLUNTEER SERVICE (12.2.6)

Council presented the Scaysbrook Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service to John Bayfield for his outstanding volunteer service to the Markham Museum.

Bill Crothers, Chair of the Friends of the Markham Museum Board and Cathy Molloy, Director of Markham Museum, were in attendance with respect to this award presentation.

(3) 40TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE SOCIETY FOR THE PRESERVATION OF HISTORIC THORNHILL (S.P.O.H.T.) (12.2.6)

Council recognized the 40th Anniversary of the Society for the Preservation of Historic Thornhill (SPOHT).

Barry Nelson, President of SPOHT, provided a short presentation on behalf of the Society. Marion Matthias, a member of SPOHT, was in attendance and was recognized as a valuable member of the Thornhill heritage community.

(4) AIDAN AIRD - WINNER OF EDUZINE GLOBAL ACE YOUNG ACHIEVER 2015 AWARD (12.2.6)

Council extended congratulations to Aidan Aird for receiving the Eduzine Global ACE Young Achiever 2015 Award, recognizing his enthusiasm for helping and promoting young people, as well as his talents in the field of S.T.E.M. (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math).

(5) RAYMOND YUE

- CONTRIBUTOR OF THE CHINESE YEAR CELEBRATIONS (12.2.6)

Council recognized Raymond Yue for his significant contribution to the Chinese New Year celebration event at the City of Markham for the past 16 consecutive years.

(6) KEN HO

- ORGANIZER OF THE CHINESE YEAR CELEBRATIONS (12.2.6)

Council recognized Ken Ho, President and Member of the Board of Directors for Canada Chinese Real Estate Brokerage Association (CCREBA), for being the key organizer of the Chinese Year celebration event at the City of Markham for the past 4 consecutive years.

(7) 20TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE ASSOCIATION DES FRANCOPHONES DE LA RÉGION DE YORK (L'AFRY) (12.2.6)

Council recognized the 20^{th} Anniversary of the Association des Francophones de la région de York (l'AFRY).

Representatives of the Association were in attendance including:

- Mona Babin, Executive Director
- Sonia Lapointe, Co-ordinator
- Alain Beaudoin, President and Chair, Board of Directors
- Stéphane Gagné, Vice President, Board of Directors
- Suzanne Théroux, Secretary, Board of Directors
- Paul Martial, Board of Directors
- Guy Designations, Board of Directors
- Marie Martel, Event Co-ordinator

((8)	50 TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE MON SHEONG FOUNDATION (12	2.2.	6
١	ιO,	7 30 ANTIVERSART OF THE MON SHEORG FOUNDATION (12	۰۰ ک ، ک	U,

Council recognized the 50th Anniversary of the Mon Sheong Foundation.

Representatives of the Foundation were in attendance including:

- Jo-Cy Lee, Director of the Board
- Stephanie Wong, Chief Executive Officer
- Terrence Au, Events Manager

3. BY-LAWS

Moved by Deputy Mayor Jack Heath Seconded by Councillor Amanda Collucci

That By-law 2015-20 be given three readings and enacted.

Three Readings

BY-LAW 2015-20 A BY-LAW TO CONFIRM THE PROCEEDINGS OF THE COUNCIL MEETING OF FEBRUARY 5, 2015.

By-law

Carried

4. ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Councillor Alex Chiu Seconded by Regional Councillor Nirmala Armstrong

That the Council Meeting be adjourned at 8:09 PM.

		Carried	
Kitty Bavington	Frank Scarpitti		
Deputy Clerk	Mayor		
(Signed)			