

Special Council Minutes

(Advisory Committee Members Past Service Recognition)
September 8, 2015, 7:00 PM
Council Chamber, Anthony Roman Markham Civic Centre
Meeting No. 17

Alternate formats for this document are available upon request

Roll Call

Mayor Frank Scarpitti, Regional Councillor Jim Jones, Regional Councillor Joe Li, Regional Councillor Nirmala Armstrong, Councillor Valerie Burke, Councillor Amanda Collucci, Councillor Logan Kanapathi, Councillor Alex Chiu.

Regrets

Deputy Mayor Jack Heath, Councillor Alan Ho, Councillor Don Hamilton, Councillor Karen Rea, Councillor Colin Campbell.

Staff

Andy Taylor, Chief Administrative Officer
Brenda Librecz, Commissioner of Community & Fire Services
Trinela Cane, Commissioner of Corporate Services
John Wong, Technology Support Specialist
Lorraine Li, Special Assistant to Mayor Frank Scarpitti
Dennis Flaherty, Director of Communications and Community Relations
Martha Pettit, Deputy Clerk
Laura Gold, Council/Committee Coordinator

The Special Council Meeting convened at 7:15 p.m. on September 8, 2015 in the Council Chamber. Mayor Frank Scarpitti presided.

Isabella Santiago sang Canada's National Anthem "O Canada".

1. DISCLOSURE OF PECUNIARY INTEREST

(1) None declared.

2. PRESENTATIONS

(1) ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERS PAST SERVICE RECOGNITION (12.2.6)

Council recognized past members of Advisory Committees for their dedicated service including:

Advisory Committee on Accessibility

Cindy Jones-Sherk Margit Swift Sidney Polak

Agricultural Advisory Committee

Christopher Burkholder Harriet Friedmann Jay Reesor

Animal Care Committee

Caroline Lane Janet Andrews Jody Greenlaw Kathy Clark

Box Grove Community Centre Board

Angelica Gutierrez Frank Orovits

Canada Day Committee

Catherine Johnson
Cynthia Taylor-Huff
Irene Tse
Ju Jun Lee
Lauren Matunin
Nicole DiNovo
Peter Still
Rocky Chen
Zhouyun Yang

Cornell Advisory Group

Niome Massey

Cycling & Pedestrian Advisory Committee

Arup Mukherjee

Gerald Corbett

Rachael Woodroffe

Winston Stewart

Doors Open Markham Committee

Judy Pfaff

Lalaine Dyok

Nancy Medlock

Election Compliance Committee

James L. Robinson

Olga Luftig

Environmental Advisory Committee

Amanda Napoli

Christopher Sauer

Erica Tsang-Trinaistich

James Lin

Muhammad Rashid

Phil Fung

Rodney Yee

Vern Ricksen

Flato Markham Theatre Advisory Board

David Banfield

Jennifer Kah

Neil Fernandez

Stephen Mathieu

Suzzette James

Friends of the Markham Museum Board

Debbie Wong

Edmund Li

John R. Buie

Randy Barber

Robert L. Baird

German Mills Community Centre Board

Myra Bechtel

German Mills Meadow Natural Habitat Liaison Committee

Joseph Coleman

Heintzman House Community Centre Board

Ken Davis

Sam Masson

Heritage Markham - LACAC

Barry Nelson

Edward Chisholm

Judith Dawson

Marion Matthias

Richard Morales

Ronald Waine

Leash Free Markham Committee

Annie Cheng

Chris Dunn

Darlene Macartney

Main Street Markham Committee

Diane Kobelansky

Jonathan Mingay

Markham Village Business Improvement Area Board

Daniel Gauthier

Diane Kobelansky

Terrence Pochmurski

Tracy Kaitabanis

Vic Hartman

Markham Village Train Station Community Centre Board

Rutherford Spraggon

Wayne Moss

Markham Mayor's Youth Council

Amanda Whyte

Annie Sun

Arjun Bali

Ashley Lam

Bethany Chrystoja

Carmen Chen

Christine Hui

Clive Ngan

Henry He

Janice Chu

Jeffrey Li

Jennifer Cheng

Joeffre Braga

Kevin Jen

Kush Thaker

Michelle Lu

Nandini Shah

Nirushi Mohan

Pai Liu

River Wong

Rocky Chen

Ronaz Remtulla

Tiffany Chan

Tina Zhong

Yu Xin Shi

Property Standards Committee

Chip Au

Ken Murphy

Michael Visconti

Pino Tiberio

Public Art Advisory Committee Markham

Glenn Harrington

Jadwiga Byszewski

Judy Lau

Matthew Korchinski

Peter Pavlovic

Stefania Pfugbeil

Public Library Board

Alan Orr

Deborah Jestin

Edward McDermott

John Webster

Justin Hung

Monica Lawrence

Sanjay Varma

Public Realm Advisory Committee

Hanif Nori

Race Relations Committee

Carla Crooks

Darius Sookram

Liliana Soengas

Samil Chagpar

Vilvan Gunasingham

RBC Markham-Milliken Children's Festival Committee

Hera Wan

Imran Cassim

Jeevan Treehan

Oscar Tran

Susanna Lee

Vivian Lam

Seniors Advisory Committee

Angela Morris

Jaswant Dhanjal

Jeyasakathy Thayaparan

Joan Lever

Katy Kwan

Sandra Donin

Susan Leppington

Senior Hall of Fame Awards Committee

Ada Yeung

Angela Morris

Ashok Joshi

Unionville Business Improvement Area

Andrew Black

Keing Li

Paul Vasilovsky

Shauna Podrozney

Sylvia Morris

Tom Vasilovsky

Varley-McKay Art Foundation of Markham

Anthony P. Smith

David Tsubouchi

Drew Gerrard

Mahesh Chokshi

Patricia Loveland

Rosemary Donegan

Victoria Square Community Centre Board

John Christensen

On behalf of Council, Mayor Frank Scarpitti expressed gratitude to all past members for their contributions to the community of Markham by serving on one of the City's advisory boards and committees.

Isabella Santiago sang "My Fight Song".

Moved by Regional Councillor Jim Jones Seconded by Regional Councillor Joe Li

That Council express its gratitude and appreciation to all past members for their contributions to the community of Markham by serving on one of the City's advisory boards and committees.

Carried

3. CONFIRMATORY BY-LAW

Moved by Regional Councillor Nirmala Armstrong Seconded by Councillor Alex Chiu

That By-law 2015-124 be given three readings and enacted.

Three Readings

BY-LAW 2015-124 A BY-LAW TO CONFIRM THE PROCEEDINGS OF THE SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OF SEPTEMBER 8, 2015.

Carried

4. ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Councillor Alex Chiu Seconded by Councillor Valerie Burke

That the Special Council Meeting be adjourned at 8:10 PM.

Martha Pettit Frank Scarpitti
Deputy Clerk Mayor

(Signed)